Push Ortho CMC Thumb Brace (to treat thumb osteoarthritis pain) From  £49.68

Rating: 4.74 Based on 123 Reviews
Write A Review Return to Product Information
Sort By

5.00 out of 5 stars
Fifi G from United KingdomOwner20 June 2019 05:45
The brace was recommended by my physio and it has transformed my ability to perform everyday tasks such as ironing, cooking, writing and even gardening. It’s surprisingly comfy to wear and not at all restrictive unlike other thumb braces I have used in the past. It’s expensive but well worth the investment.
2 People out of 2 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Dee from United KingdomOwner10 March 2019 13:03
BUY IT! I have early onset osteo arthritis. Thumb permanently misaligned. Two small boys to look after. Massive and endless pain and injections do nothing for me at all. Now instead of grieving for my life I can get on with it for the 1st time in years. I have tried so many and this is the only one that is practical, I keep my deterity and it miraculously eases the pain. I don't know how but I am eternally grateful. It is really great quality but even if I have to replace it every few months it is worth it. P.s. Vivomed customer service is top dog too. I would use again.
2 People out of 3 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Dee from United KingdomOwner10 March 2019 13:00
BUY IT! I have early onset osteo arthritis. Thumb permanently misaligned. Two small boys. So much endless pain and injections do nothing. Now instead of grieving for my life I can get on with it for the 1st time in years. I have tried so many and this is the only one that is practical, I keep my deterity and it miraculously eases the pain. I don't know how but I am eternally grateful. It is really great quality but even if I have to replace it every few months it is worth it.
1 People out of 1 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner24 January 2019 20:30
I was advised to purchase these splints to help manage my CMC joint instability. Easy to fit and immediately felt they were controlling the CMC joint position, making functional tasks not only more comfortable, but also giving the feeling that the improved position was improving the ability for the muscles to work effectively over the joint.
1 People out of 2 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Ali from United KingdomOwner07 April 2018 03:05
Having previously used a neoprene thumb splint, which only provided moderate relief, and was somewhat hot and sweaty to use, my Physio recommended your push thumb orthotic. It is more discrete and far more effective than my previous splint, without the issue of heat and sweating. The support offered is also superior.
3 People out of 5 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Danuta from United KingdomOwner23 February 2018 17:10
Following a sporting injury to my left thumb joint I also developed osteoarthritis in it. I find it difficult to grip so I purchased this item on advice from my physiotherapist. It works really well for me - it is comfortable, supports my joint incredibly well and enables me to do so many tasks without discomfort. It is also very discreet, so I can wear it anywhere.
3 People out of 5 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner12 November 2017 14:10
This has stopped most of the pain I was getting when doing things like gripping a glass, pouring a kettle, turning a tap, playing a musical instrument and shaking hands with people.
Excellent fast service from Vivomed.
Just one gripe - £50 seems outrageous for such a simple piece of plastic.
3 People out of 6 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Catherine Dakin from United KingdomOwner22 October 2017 12:53
This splint controls my pain in CMC-1 (base of thumb), while allowing movement in the rest of my hand. It is hygienic, discrete, and is suitable to be worn under clinical gloves. I am a doctor, and wearing this splint means that I have had a significant increase in dexterity, in a hand that has been, until now, almost completely useless.

Severe pain is a major issue, but this splint addresses this well.

A real game-changer for me.
4 People out of 6 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Alicky from United KingdomOwner18 June 2017 05:06
When the hand surgeon recommended a "Push splint" to try to delay the need for surgery, I was happy to try anything! This simple brace provides me with welcome relief from the 'sickening' pain of OA at the base of my thumb that topical gels and oral analgesia hasn't been able to relieve. It's not perfect and I now have to wear my Apple Watch on my other wrist to stop Siri constantly asking how he can help me!!!' Additionally, when I use crutches to walk, the brace tends to dig into my thumb, so I've taken to removing it then BUT any respite from pain is welcome and this thumb brace provides me with that. This is not an inexpensive item, so it would have been good to have had facilitiy, when ordering, to be awarded VAT exemption as with other products for the disabled.
3 People out of 5 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner15 June 2017 15:07
I did not want the CMC operation and didn't like the bulky neoprene type of brace/splint .....yes, I was a bit wary considering the cost of these ...but really just say they are brilliant ...can't think of anyway they restrict me doing anything I want......I wear it all day long and am very happy with it as there is much less pain in my right thumb. My left thumb is also arthritic though not as bad as the right. But I will certainly send for another to fit that one ..worth every penny ...
2 People out of 5 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from CanadaOwner03 May 2017 18:22
I bought one for each hand to replace the fabric ones I've been wearing which are bulky, hot & get dirty very quickly. After trying these I immediately ordered 2 more for each hand as spares. I'm very active, kayaking, gardening etc and these are perfect for outdoor activities. WARNING: Because they're rigid, they tend to pinch the soft tissue inside of the thumb, even after adjusting the tightness. I'll try to find a soft pad of sorts to insert or grow calluses ...not a deal breaker!
5 People out of 8 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner27 April 2017 18:41
I have been searching forever for a thumb brace I could wear without being hampered by too many straps & wrist wraps etc...this one is EVERYTHING I was dreaming about. It is so cleverly designed...simple, streamlined and totally effective. A young friend asked if it was some kind of contemporary jewelry...I think it is BEAUTIFUL and the designers & manufacturers should be awarded professional prizes + so should Vivomed for including it in their offering. THANK YOU!
4 People out of 7 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of AmericaOwner01 November 2016 18:09
I looked everywhere for a brace like this- one that does not cover your whole hand. This brace works well to keep the thumb in place and still allows you to use your hand! I can't beleive that my doctors didn't recommend this- their answer is shots and ice for excruciating pain (neither works) and at the same time saying it osnt bad enough for surgery- glad I found this brace- thanks vivomed
3 People out of 6 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Patricia from United States of AmericaOwner07 October 2016 21:08
I could not have hoped for a better product. This thumb brace enabled me to use my hand and thumb the way it was meant to. I was unable to write neatly (a note to someone), I couldn't open doors and I couldn't turn pages because I could not pinch my finger and thumb together tightly! I am 100% satisfied with this product.
4 People out of 7 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United Kingdom EXC NI04 September 2016 11:06
Well I got this item for my huband who was in a lot of pain, I'll be honest I wasn't sure just how much it could help him but at this point I was willing to try anything. It arrived really quickly and we put it on him, it was a bit uncomfortable at first but once he got used to it he was fine with it. After a day or two he notived that he wasn't in as much pain and after a week he was actually able to reduce his pain medication. It is a great help and I am really happy that I decided to give it a try.
5 People out of 75 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United Kingdom14 June 2016 17:42
Small and compact and now comfortable with a small modification. The area that fits between thumb and fingers is very inflexible and rigid. It would be a better model if this piece were a smooth rubberized roll as I have had to pad it and bind it to stop the edges digging in. Apart from that it is brilliant and does the job.
8 People out of 15 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Petronella from United KingdomOwner01 May 2016 12:31
I am very pleased with the braces they offer me the support I need. Very impressed with your quick service as I received my order within less than 24 hours. I was recommended this brace by my sister who lives in the Netherlands . She was seen by a specialist who advised her to wear the brace and referred this website to me in the UK.
8 People out of 16 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
KC from United KingdomOwner03 March 2016 17:07
I was very impressed by the fast service form Vivomed and have recommended them to my hand therapist
The brace3 is an amazing product - it is so unobtrusive I forget I am even wearing it. It does not restrict or impede any of my everyday movements and hand function. Without it, though, not only do I feel the thumb joint pain again but also earlier pain from the other side of my wrist. I would recommend this product wholeheartedly: such a small price for such great pain relief Thank you
26 People out of 48 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Avigail from IsraelOwner23 November 2015 13:29
I've had CMC arthritis for about 15 years, and this brace was recommended to me by a hand therapist. It is by far the most comfortable and functional brace I've used, and the fact that it can be used in wet or dirty environments and be washed in a washing machine is a huge advantage over the regular type of brace. The price from Vivomed (plus shipping) is less than in my own country, and Vivomed's service was very pleasant, efficient, and quick.
270 People out of 608 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Joan B from United States of AmericaOwner18 November 2015 16:54
In the past I've been disappointed by products that sounded perfect in their description but didn't even come close in reality. Not this one - it's great! It offers a tremendous the amount of support, comfort and protection I've been seeing for years. My hand therapist recommended this item and when I saw the price I hesitated and waited a while to order. BIG MISTAKE! It's worth every penny and my concerns about ordering from an overseas company were for naught. Delivery and cost were even better than what I found on Amazon.
321 People out of 693 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner22 October 2015 11:19
Had one made at hospital, which worked but being home-made was poor and had sharp edges. Did some investigating and found this which was the "commercial version".

Purchased, and found that it fits well and does exactly what I wanted - stops the osteoarthritis pain I have in my thumb joints. Yes expensive for what it is, but comfortable to wear and worked as needed! What more can I say!!
348 People out of 681 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Lewi from United KingdomOwner09 October 2015 20:54
Right if your suffering from cmc base of the thumb pain then this brace is brilliant I have one for both thumbs I've used these for two years & have just had a trepizectomy 4 weeks post-op but would have struggled to cope without this brace on my left thumb while right one is recovering. Buy it as it really does help (not cure) vivomed have great customer support. Bit expensive but hey they are worth it best money I've spent.
354 People out of 655 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of America04 October 2015 14:08
I have had terrible pain in my thumbs for the past year. I have tried the very painful cortisone injections but they only last about a month and are just too painful to repeat. I've tried the cloth braces that include the wrist and they are hot and limit my wrist motion.
I ran across the PUSH Brace online and immediately ordered it. The moment I put it on the pain was gone. I wear 24 hours a day now and can do just about anything with my thumbs without pain.
I do wish the plastic was a bit softer. It really takes some getting used to - especially between thumb and forefinger. The hard plastic can pinch.
But I would still recommend this product very highly!
366 People out of 673 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of America04 October 2015 14:05
I have had terrible pain in my thumbs for the past year. I have tried the very painful cortisone injections but they only last about a month and are just too painful to repeat. I've tried the cloth braces that include the wrist and they are hot and limit my wrist motion.
I ran across the PUSH Brace online and immediately ordered it. The moment I put it on the pain was gone. I wear 24 hours a day now and can do just about anything with my thumbs without pain.
I do wish the plastic was a bit softer. It really takes some getting used to - especially between thumb and forefinger. The hard plastic can pinch.
But I would still recommend this product very highly!
391 People out of 693 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Jennifer from United KingdomOwner30 August 2015 19:05
Despite the cost I decided to get one of these as both my physio and orthopaedic consultant recommended it. The splint arrived quickly, and I realised that the biggest bonus was that it was washable, which means I can wear it when doing things like cleaning out the chickens, where I know that a) it puts a strain on my thumb joint and b) the splint is likely to get dirty. I don't mind wearing it more often as I know I can wash it and it will dry quickly. Well worth the money just for that alone!
390 People out of 756 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of AmericaOwner28 August 2015 17:12
I bought the CMC Push brace first about 7 or so months ago for my for my left thumb to wear as a "dress" brace when not working and wearing the "not-so-attractive" one made by the O.T. I found that the Push brace gave very good stability and did not interfere nearly as much as the OT fabricated brace did when I went about my tasks ( computer inputting, patient interactions, hand washings, equipment adjustments, etc) as a physical therapist. I have subsequently gotten the right CMC Push brace and also have recommended The Push to to other people who have CMC troubles. I will definitely reorder these braces if the ones I have wear out though they show no signs of that yetand have been worn not only to work but also gardening, etc.
345 People out of 663 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of AmericaOwner18 August 2015 07:37
It does restrict your movements, and can feel a little uncomfortable at times, but I expect that is what is needed to stop the joint being in pain after considerable work.
I would recommend this to anyone with very painful thumb joints.
My cartridge has complete gone in my right thumb, and I am waiting for an operation, this brace has helped considerably .
371 People out of 709 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Lori from United States of AmericaOwner31 July 2015 17:17
I own a custom fabricated CMC splint and a neoprene stablizing splint and this brace is hands down the most comfortable, functional and provides the most pain relief. I am a Physical Therapist and can wear this all day at work with no problems. You can normally shake someones hand without pain and additionally, I have worn it to play softball, lift weights and to swim. I highly recommend this brace.
Initially I thought that it was too expensive and I still feel that it is for the amount of material included in the brace, however clearly with this item you are paying for the research and technology behind it and not the expense of materials.
409 People out of 705 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner30 April 2015 09:21
I've had pain in my hand/thumb joint which was gradually reducing what I could do. Quite incapacitating at times.Putting on the thumb brace makes a tremendous amount of difference and I can now garden etc. again with (almost!) impunity. I would highly recommend this to anyone with this problem. Well worth the money.
458 People out of 853 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Darlene from United States of AmericaOwner07 March 2015 18:07
My doctor recommended this brace. It is great because it allows you to use your hand freely while supporting the thumb joint. Be sure to choose right or left. I foolishly just ordered one not realizing there was a right and left. Of course the one I received was for the hand that was not hurting. Hopefully, the new one I ordered will keep me from having surgery.
411 People out of 803 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Marie from United KingdomOwner16 December 2013 13:30
I have just purchased my third set of Push thumb braces. They are the best I have ever used. I have Ehlers Danlos Syndrome and very severe osteo-arthritis in my hands and thumbs causing a lot of pain. I was prescribed thumb braces on the NHS but I did not have the strength in my hands to cope with the velcro. I could not use them unless I had someone to help me. Not what you want when you are trying to be independent. They also made my hands unbearably hot and the neoprene caused eczema.

These Push braces are so much better. I can get them on and off myself, they don't make my hands too hot,and they allow me to do most of the jobs I want to do - including typing this review. More importantly, I can hold on to walking sticks or my rollator - which was very difficult with the bigger NHS braces. They can be used with the Push wrist braces as well when I need extra support for my wrist. I can get them under gloves when the weather is freezing. They are easy to wash and dry overnight.

They are so light I hardly know they are there and yet they give really good support to my thumbs and hands. Pain has been much improved.

I have found that each pair has lasted about five months before the velcro loses grip and they have to be replaced. However, this is a small price for the benefit they provide. I would recommend highly them.

Excellent service from Vivomed, too.

533 People out of 1051 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of AmericaOwner16 November 2013 14:32
My only disappointment was finding it for a lower cost after purchase. As a physical therapist I am very impressed with the support given from the brace. My pain is already reducing and I hope in a couple of months to have long term joint stabilization. Need to be cautious of moisture underneath the brace and protect your skin. Thankyou to the fine mind behind this design.
703 People out of 1266 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner03 November 2013 21:08
I've got two of hear one for each hand. I've got osteoarthritis of the CMC joint in both thumbs. I was advised by my hand physiotherapist to purchase one of these which I did. It was so good I purchased another and now can lift things and hold things better as it gives me pain relief and some strength back. I would certainly recommend them to anyone who has the same problem.
492 People out of 1003 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of AmericaOwner29 September 2013 14:53
Have had surgery for basal joint osteoarthritis (arthroplasty). Now have only about 70% of hand strength. I just started using this brace in situations where I tend to over use my hand. So far it has helped prevent me from doing that and is so minimal and light, it does not make my hand sweat like in my other soft brace.
586 People out of 1069 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Marchfly from AustraliaOwner07 July 2013 01:31
I have worn this intermittently for a week now and I am very happy with it. I can certainly tell the difference when I haven't got it on. I am not getting the incredible stabbing pain when I wear it. This is the best brace I have tried in many years of CMC osteoarthritis. Would recommend it to anyone with the same problem. I would have doubt, though, that this is a cure. But it certainly gives a great deal of relief.
500 People out of 1014 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
BUDDY from United States of AmericaOwner30 May 2013 14:20
The Push brace for my Basal thumb problem works extremely well. It isolates the bone but gives me enough movement to continue my work. I do not wear it 24/7 but a few hours a day a few times a day just to rest the joint. I get comments about this device all the time. Most say they need this thing or have the same problem. I would recommend the Push Brace to anyone.
490 People out of 1082 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Carol from United States of AmericaOwner27 February 2013 15:14
I have been suffering from osteoarthritis in my hands for years. My left thumb was repaired about 15 years ago but until recently, my right thumb was feeling ok. About two months ago, my right thumb really started bothering me so I began wearing the brace prescribed by my doctor all the tume. Since it is fabric with an elastic keeper, it never really felt like it was supporting the thumb joint very well and thought I was going to have to have this one surgically repaired, too. However, I went on-line and found this brace and am thrilled with my choice. I am so happy I decided to give it a try because I am completely without pain in my right thumb. Since it supports the joint so well and I can wear it all the time, I am able to work, exercise, play - all without fear of injuring the joint and creating more pain. At this rate, I may be able to hold off on the surgery for quite some time. It is absolutely the best.
515 People out of 1050 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Gill  from United KingdomOwner04 April 2017 18:43
I have osteoarthritis in my thumb , injections have helped. as this support has really helped , injections don't have to be done every few months let's me shower , swim and and do household jobs with limited pain. I would recommend this type of support for anyone with thumb problems .
2 People out of 4 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anne from United KingdomOwner11 July 2017 18:46
This is the second brace I have bought, one for each hand now. They are really comfortable out of all the different braces I have tried. The only down side is it would be nice to have a soft fabric type liner on the inside next to the skin as the hot weather can make you sweat
3 People out of 6 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
nymous from United KingdomOwner30 May 2013 16:13
I wore the thumb splint for approx 10 days and the pain relief was almost immediate. I now wear it when I need it which has been very infrequent. I am delighted with it and I will be considering buying one for my right thumb which is becoming painful on certain movements of the hand.
501 People out of 979 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymousannie from AustraliaOwner14 September 2013 12:02
My old splint covered my wrist and forearm and was very restricting. This splint is perfect. It is small and aesthetically pleasing plus allows a good range of movement for the rest of the hand. I have arthritis in my CMC joint and this brace has been very effective
486 People out of 990 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from CanadaOwner31 May 2013 16:15
As I work in a fresh food department ( which also requires disposable gloves) this thumb brace allows me to continue with my job. It is washable , can get wet, is not cumbersome therefore the rest of my hand is still quite flexable. And the gloves fit over easily.
561 People out of 1005 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
John  from United KingdomOwner26 August 2015 16:38
I purchased a right hand Thumb Brace on line and it arrived 2 days later I could not have asked for better service and I feel that it is giving me the support in my thumb joint that I wanted and if this goes OK may well purchase another support for my left thumb
336 People out of 735 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Nick from CanadaOwner12 December 2015 22:56
This is an excellent low profile brace that the supports the CMC joint in just the right way. It allows me to still wear my watch on my left hand, put on and take off a glove with ease and cleans with soap & water. . Bought a second one for the other hand.
331 People out of 678 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner24 June 2015 16:48
This was recommended by local hospital occupational therapist, for severe arthritis at base of thumb, which I have had, off and on, for nearly 60 years. This is the first device which has provided relief! Delighted with this product.
371 People out of 782 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.00 out of 5 stars
Cassie from United KingdomOwner12 January 2019 06:55
I bought my first set of these thumb supports three years ago out of desperation due to the pain in the cmc joints in both hands.
They took a bit of getting used to the hold the joint in place and help reduce the pain.
I showed them to my consultant and he asked where I had got them from as he had not seen them. They definitely beat the splints that were moulded for me.
Only issue I have with them is the velcro fasterners, quality of which vary and can be rough. My new set seem a bit better than the last but the first ones I bought were the best. They still fasten and hold and I wear them at night they are so comfy.
The only thing that would make them better was if they had some sort of replacement scheme where you could get the fasteners replaced for a fee. Its bonded to the splint so I would imagine it could be done.
Other than that I love them, they make my life easier
1 People out of 1 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.00 out of 5 stars
Mary from United KingdomOwner05 May 2016 18:42
Instant relief from osteoarthritis without pain medication offering support exactly where needed. Prevents me from damaging the joint further when wearing it. Recommended by my consultant. The only brace I can wear under a gardening glove because of close support of thumb joint. Have not had the brace long and don't wear it all day and have noticed wear on the Velcro type straps so I'm not sure of the durability hence only 4 stars. Other than that, absolutely brilliant product.
7 People out of 14 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.00 out of 5 stars
Tim from United Kingdom23 February 2016 18:21
As a fairly recent basal thumb arthritis sufferer, I purchased this brace after sub-optimal experiences with other types of support. one of which was an elastic wrist support and the other a more targeted elastic thumb support, both of which had some positive effect but both of which were poorly manufactured. This brace is well designed and fairly comfortable with a rigid component to reduce exposure of the thumb to unexpected movement which is often a cause of pain, a flexible component across the base of the palm, and a simple Velcro type fastening across the back of the wrist. It appears to keep its condition after being washed by hand. I find that it does sometimes get in the way if you are doing certain manual tasks such as digging, so I would take it off for that. Also, I find handwriting is quite difficult but as I don't write much these days, that's probably more about getting used to it. All in all, this is the best solution I have tried to date to reduce pain while I consider more interventional options.
10 People out of 19 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.00 out of 5 stars
Tim from United KingdomOwner23 February 2016 18:09
As a fairly recent basal thumb arthritis sufferer, I purchased this brace after sub-optimal experiences with other types of support. one of which was an elastic wrist support and the other a more targeted elastic thumb support, both of which had some positive effect but both of which were poorly manufactured. This brace is well designed with a rigid component to reduce exposure of the thumb to unexpected movement which are often a cause of pain, a flexible component across the base of the palm, and a simple Velcro type fastening across the back of the wrist. It appears to keep its condition after washing it by hand. It does sometimes get in the way if you are doing a manual task
9 People out of 18 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.00 out of 5 stars
Pat from United States of AmericaOwner06 October 2015 16:43
This is a GREAT product. I have been PAIN FREE since putting on the PUSH brace. I use it on BOTH thumbs. My only complaint would be that the hard rubber is very uncomfortable especially between thumb and forefinger. I would think a softer silicon-type gel would be just as effective and much more comfortable. Nevertheless, I wear the braces 24/7 and am pain-free with them on....and my range of motion is quite good! So all in all I am very pleased.
53 People out of 100 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo