Push Ortho CMC Thumb Brace (to treat thumb osteoarthritis pain) From  £49.68

Rating: 4.74 Based on 122 Reviews
Write A Review Return to Product Information
Sort By

4.74 out of 5 stars
Carol from United States of AmericaOwner27 February 2013 15:14
I have been suffering from osteoarthritis in my hands for years. My left thumb was repaired about 15 years ago but until recently, my right thumb was feeling ok. About two months ago, my right thumb really started bothering me so I began wearing the brace prescribed by my doctor all the tume. Since it is fabric with an elastic keeper, it never really felt like it was supporting the thumb joint very well and thought I was going to have to have this one surgically repaired, too. However, I went on-line and found this brace and am thrilled with my choice. I am so happy I decided to give it a try because I am completely without pain in my right thumb. Since it supports the joint so well and I can wear it all the time, I am able to work, exercise, play - all without fear of injuring the joint and creating more pain. At this rate, I may be able to hold off on the surgery for quite some time. It is absolutely the best.
515 People out of 1050 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Janet from United States of AmericaOwner30 May 2013 13:54
Thanks for letting me exchange for a bigger size.
613 People out of 1094 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
BUDDY from United States of AmericaOwner30 May 2013 14:20
The Push brace for my Basal thumb problem works extremely well. It isolates the bone but gives me enough movement to continue my work. I do not wear it 24/7 but a few hours a day a few times a day just to rest the joint. I get comments about this device all the time. Most say they need this thing or have the same problem. I would recommend the Push Brace to anyone.
490 People out of 1082 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
nymous from United KingdomOwner30 May 2013 16:13
I wore the thumb splint for approx 10 days and the pain relief was almost immediate. I now wear it when I need it which has been very infrequent. I am delighted with it and I will be considering buying one for my right thumb which is becoming painful on certain movements of the hand.
501 People out of 979 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of America30 May 2013 19:12
It works great and still have great hand function
424 People out of 921 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from CanadaOwner31 May 2013 16:15
As I work in a fresh food department ( which also requires disposable gloves) this thumb brace allows me to continue with my job. It is washable , can get wet, is not cumbersome therefore the rest of my hand is still quite flexable. And the gloves fit over easily.
561 People out of 1005 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Richard from United KingdomOwner05 June 2013 14:12
I have only just opened the package, but after putting the brace on my thumb, immediately I felt the relief caused by the support.

Incidentally, delivery was extremely fast - thank you.
509 People out of 1010 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Patricia from United KingdomOwner06 June 2013 16:43
An excellent splint for my purpose. First class service all round from Vivomed.
508 People out of 1017 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Marchfly from AustraliaOwner07 July 2013 01:31
I have worn this intermittently for a week now and I am very happy with it. I can certainly tell the difference when I haven't got it on. I am not getting the incredible stabbing pain when I wear it. This is the best brace I have tried in many years of CMC osteoarthritis. Would recommend it to anyone with the same problem. I would have doubt, though, that this is a cure. But it certainly gives a great deal of relief.
500 People out of 1014 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from CanadaOwner13 September 2013 02:48
So far so good
514 People out of 991 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymousannie from AustraliaOwner14 September 2013 12:02
My old splint covered my wrist and forearm and was very restricting. This splint is perfect. It is small and aesthetically pleasing plus allows a good range of movement for the rest of the hand. I have arthritis in my CMC joint and this brace has been very effective
485 People out of 989 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of AmericaOwner29 September 2013 14:53
Have had surgery for basal joint osteoarthritis (arthroplasty). Now have only about 70% of hand strength. I just started using this brace in situations where I tend to over use my hand. So far it has helped prevent me from doing that and is so minimal and light, it does not make my hand sweat like in my other soft brace.
586 People out of 1069 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner03 November 2013 21:08
I've got two of hear one for each hand. I've got osteoarthritis of the CMC joint in both thumbs. I was advised by my hand physiotherapist to purchase one of these which I did. It was so good I purchased another and now can lift things and hold things better as it gives me pain relief and some strength back. I would certainly recommend them to anyone who has the same problem.
492 People out of 1003 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of AmericaOwner16 November 2013 14:32
My only disappointment was finding it for a lower cost after purchase. As a physical therapist I am very impressed with the support given from the brace. My pain is already reducing and I hope in a couple of months to have long term joint stabilization. Need to be cautious of moisture underneath the brace and protect your skin. Thankyou to the fine mind behind this design.
694 People out of 1257 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Marie from United KingdomOwner16 December 2013 13:30
I have just purchased my third set of Push thumb braces. They are the best I have ever used. I have Ehlers Danlos Syndrome and very severe osteo-arthritis in my hands and thumbs causing a lot of pain. I was prescribed thumb braces on the NHS but I did not have the strength in my hands to cope with the velcro. I could not use them unless I had someone to help me. Not what you want when you are trying to be independent. They also made my hands unbearably hot and the neoprene caused eczema.

These Push braces are so much better. I can get them on and off myself, they don't make my hands too hot,and they allow me to do most of the jobs I want to do - including typing this review. More importantly, I can hold on to walking sticks or my rollator - which was very difficult with the bigger NHS braces. They can be used with the Push wrist braces as well when I need extra support for my wrist. I can get them under gloves when the weather is freezing. They are easy to wash and dry overnight.

They are so light I hardly know they are there and yet they give really good support to my thumbs and hands. Pain has been much improved.

I have found that each pair has lasted about five months before the velcro loses grip and they have to be replaced. However, this is a small price for the benefit they provide. I would recommend highly them.

Excellent service from Vivomed, too.

533 People out of 1051 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Carolyn from United KingdomOwner28 January 2015 13:08
Very comfy to wear
Good quality
Have found it great for driving
496 People out of 1063 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
lee from United KingdomOwner31 January 2015 19:23
I have arthritis to my Basal joint in my thumb. The Ortho thumb brace allows me to use my hand as normal with complete flexibility. I can do everything now I could do prior to getting arthritis in my thumb it is a real life changer.
438 People out of 902 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Mary from Ireland09 February 2015 14:18
As usual a pleasure to do business with.
Many thanks.
546 People out of 1085 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner17 February 2015 20:36
Tried this product hoping it would reduce pain and increase function and was not disappointed. As a Physio i need the use of my hands while working and this product allows me to cont work with reduce pain. Brilliant.
436 People out of 817 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Pauline from AustraliaOwner19 February 2015 19:59
Fantastic brace...this is the third brace I have tried and by far the best...immediate relief. Thanks for the prompt delivery!
362 People out of 759 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Lisa-Jayne from United KingdomOwner27 February 2015 18:21
A very cleverly designed aid for therapists.
311 People out of 778 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of AmericaOwner24 April 2015 18:00
The brace does a wonderful job of supporting my thumb joint.
The order is filled quickly and correctly.
354 People out of 699 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner30 April 2015 09:21
I've had pain in my hand/thumb joint which was gradually reducing what I could do. Quite incapacitating at times.Putting on the thumb brace makes a tremendous amount of difference and I can now garden etc. again with (almost!) impunity. I would highly recommend this to anyone with this problem. Well worth the money.
458 People out of 853 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner17 June 2015 16:28
Very comfortable to wear. Would recommend this company and will definitely use them again.
363 People out of 715 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner24 June 2015 16:48
This was recommended by local hospital occupational therapist, for severe arthritis at base of thumb, which I have had, off and on, for nearly 60 years. This is the first device which has provided relief! Delighted with this product.
371 People out of 782 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
james from United KingdomOwner24 June 2015 19:52
the thumb brace is great but not very robust.
my first one only lasted me 3 months and at £45 a time it is going to get expensive for me to replace so often.
400 People out of 786 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Lynn from United KingdomOwner26 July 2015 20:04
Quality
352 People out of 736 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of AmericaOwner18 August 2015 07:37
It does restrict your movements, and can feel a little uncomfortable at times, but I expect that is what is needed to stop the joint being in pain after considerable work.
I would recommend this to anyone with very painful thumb joints.
My cartridge has complete gone in my right thumb, and I am waiting for an operation, this brace has helped considerably .
371 People out of 709 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Raquel from United States of AmericaOwner18 August 2015 20:02
So glad I made this purchase. I literally could not do my job without it!
It's so light weight, and easy to wash and care for.
1000 Thank You's!
345 People out of 696 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
John  from United KingdomOwner26 August 2015 16:38
I purchased a right hand Thumb Brace on line and it arrived 2 days later I could not have asked for better service and I feel that it is giving me the support in my thumb joint that I wanted and if this goes OK may well purchase another support for my left thumb
336 People out of 735 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of AmericaOwner28 August 2015 17:12
I bought the CMC Push brace first about 7 or so months ago for my for my left thumb to wear as a "dress" brace when not working and wearing the "not-so-attractive" one made by the O.T. I found that the Push brace gave very good stability and did not interfere nearly as much as the OT fabricated brace did when I went about my tasks ( computer inputting, patient interactions, hand washings, equipment adjustments, etc) as a physical therapist. I have subsequently gotten the right CMC Push brace and also have recommended The Push to to other people who have CMC troubles. I will definitely reorder these braces if the ones I have wear out though they show no signs of that yetand have been worn not only to work but also gardening, etc.
345 People out of 663 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Jennifer from United KingdomOwner30 August 2015 19:05
Despite the cost I decided to get one of these as both my physio and orthopaedic consultant recommended it. The splint arrived quickly, and I realised that the biggest bonus was that it was washable, which means I can wear it when doing things like cleaning out the chickens, where I know that a) it puts a strain on my thumb joint and b) the splint is likely to get dirty. I don't mind wearing it more often as I know I can wash it and it will dry quickly. Well worth the money just for that alone!
390 People out of 756 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner02 October 2015 18:16
Very impressed with the fit and the support given for driving and vigorous jobs around the house.
324 People out of 676 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of America04 October 2015 14:05
I have had terrible pain in my thumbs for the past year. I have tried the very painful cortisone injections but they only last about a month and are just too painful to repeat. I've tried the cloth braces that include the wrist and they are hot and limit my wrist motion.
I ran across the PUSH Brace online and immediately ordered it. The moment I put it on the pain was gone. I wear 24 hours a day now and can do just about anything with my thumbs without pain.
I do wish the plastic was a bit softer. It really takes some getting used to - especially between thumb and forefinger. The hard plastic can pinch.
But I would still recommend this product very highly!
391 People out of 693 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United States of America04 October 2015 14:08
I have had terrible pain in my thumbs for the past year. I have tried the very painful cortisone injections but they only last about a month and are just too painful to repeat. I've tried the cloth braces that include the wrist and they are hot and limit my wrist motion.
I ran across the PUSH Brace online and immediately ordered it. The moment I put it on the pain was gone. I wear 24 hours a day now and can do just about anything with my thumbs without pain.
I do wish the plastic was a bit softer. It really takes some getting used to - especially between thumb and forefinger. The hard plastic can pinch.
But I would still recommend this product very highly!
366 People out of 673 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Karen from United States of AmericaOwner31 July 2015 16:46
Most effective, low profile functional splint ever!
And it's washable!
353 People out of 715 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Lori from United States of AmericaOwner31 July 2015 17:17
I own a custom fabricated CMC splint and a neoprene stablizing splint and this brace is hands down the most comfortable, functional and provides the most pain relief. I am a Physical Therapist and can wear this all day at work with no problems. You can normally shake someones hand without pain and additionally, I have worn it to play softball, lift weights and to swim. I highly recommend this brace.
Initially I thought that it was too expensive and I still feel that it is for the amount of material included in the brace, however clearly with this item you are paying for the research and technology behind it and not the expense of materials.
409 People out of 705 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from IsraelOwner11 August 2015 16:41
Very good product
318 People out of 674 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Lewi from United KingdomOwner09 October 2015 20:54
Right if your suffering from cmc base of the thumb pain then this brace is brilliant I have one for both thumbs I've used these for two years & have just had a trepizectomy 4 weeks post-op but would have struggled to cope without this brace on my left thumb while right one is recovering. Buy it as it really does help (not cure) vivomed have great customer support. Bit expensive but hey they are worth it best money I've spent.
354 People out of 655 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United Kingdom17 October 2015 18:34
My best purchase ever.
367 People out of 687 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner22 October 2015 11:19
Had one made at hospital, which worked but being home-made was poor and had sharp edges. Did some investigating and found this which was the "commercial version".

Purchased, and found that it fits well and does exactly what I wanted - stops the osteoarthritis pain I have in my thumb joints. Yes expensive for what it is, but comfortable to wear and worked as needed! What more can I say!!
348 People out of 681 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner13 November 2015 11:10
This was recommended by my surgeon, it provides support but freedom to move my wrist and fingers unlike others |I have tried. definitely a good but although maybe a little expensive.
272 People out of 564 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Joan B from United States of AmericaOwner18 November 2015 16:54
In the past I've been disappointed by products that sounded perfect in their description but didn't even come close in reality. Not this one - it's great! It offers a tremendous the amount of support, comfort and protection I've been seeing for years. My hand therapist recommended this item and when I saw the price I hesitated and waited a while to order. BIG MISTAKE! It's worth every penny and my concerns about ordering from an overseas company were for naught. Delivery and cost were even better than what I found on Amazon.
321 People out of 693 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Avigail from IsraelOwner23 November 2015 13:29
I've had CMC arthritis for about 15 years, and this brace was recommended to me by a hand therapist. It is by far the most comfortable and functional brace I've used, and the fact that it can be used in wet or dirty environments and be washed in a washing machine is a huge advantage over the regular type of brace. The price from Vivomed (plus shipping) is less than in my own country, and Vivomed's service was very pleasant, efficient, and quick.
270 People out of 608 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Nick from CanadaOwner12 December 2015 22:56
This is an excellent low profile brace that the supports the CMC joint in just the right way. It allows me to still wear my watch on my left hand, put on and take off a glove with ease and cleans with soap & water. . Bought a second one for the other hand.
331 People out of 678 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Frances from United States of AmericaOwner17 December 2015 18:42
My doctor recommended this thumb brace and it is
great. I wear it all the time.
338 People out of 717 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Sharon from IsraelOwner17 February 2016 15:17
This brace is excellent. It's compact and does an excellent job of supporting the base of my thumb. It's washable and adjustable and comfortable to wear. When I need it - this brace gives excellent support. thank you.
300 People out of 584 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
peter from United KingdomOwner06 March 2015 16:13
Great product.
Easy to use and wear and does a superb job of supporting the basal joint and relieving discomfort. In doing so there is no restriction to the use of the thumb, hand or wrist. Service from Vivomed was superb.
410 People out of 778 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
Darlene from United States of AmericaOwner07 March 2015 18:07
My doctor recommended this brace. It is great because it allows you to use your hand freely while supporting the thumb joint. Be sure to choose right or left. I foolishly just ordered one not realizing there was a right and left. Of course the one I received was for the hand that was not hurting. Hopefully, the new one I ordered will keep me from having surgery.
411 People out of 803 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.74 out of 5 stars
KC from United KingdomOwner03 March 2016 17:07
I was very impressed by the fast service form Vivomed and have recommended them to my hand therapist
The brace3 is an amazing product - it is so unobtrusive I forget I am even wearing it. It does not restrict or impede any of my everyday movements and hand function. Without it, though, not only do I feel the thumb joint pain again but also earlier pain from the other side of my wrist. I would recommend this product wholeheartedly: such a small price for such great pain relief Thank you
26 People out of 48 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo